Google latitude is a software that allows you to share your whereabouts with famiy and friends  through your mobile phones. It  is a new feature in Google maps on user’s mobile device like iPhone and iPod touch .  You can also use it on computer by adding it in your iGoogle as a gadget. Once you  have opted in to Google Latitude in your mobile device, you can

1) Share locations : Location sharing starts only when both you and a friend agree. Invite friends via email or easily add them from your Gmail contacts.

2)  Contact your friends : Quickly contact your friends with an SMS, IM, or phone call. You can also get directions to lead you to your friends.

3) Control privacy : You can share, set, hide your location – or sign out of Google Latitude – from the privacy menu. Your location is not shared with your contacts automatically. Location is only shared if you invite your friends to view your location and the good thing is that you can choose whoc can see your location. You can also hide your location or share only a city-level location with certain friends. When you hide your location, your friends will not see your photo icon on a map and will not see a location for you in their list view. When you select the city level sharing option for individuals, those friends will see your photo icon without an arrow beneath it and without an accuracy circle in the map view. Your photo icon will also appear in the middle of your current city location.

says Google. Check out this video to know more about privacy features of Google latitude.

Well, I personally feel that Google latitude will revolutionize the way we stay connected.

Stay tuned for more.

Advertisements